Create and manage users

Deep Security has users, roles, and contacts that can be created and managed under Administration > User Management.

  • Users are Deep Security account holders who can sign in to the Deep Security Manager with a unique user name and password. You can Add or edit an individual user
  • Roles are a collection of permissions to view data and perform operations within Deep Security Manager. Each user is assigned a role. See Define roles for users.
  • Contacts do not have a user account and cannot sign in to Deep Security Manager but they can be designated as the recipients of email notifications and scheduled reports. See Add users who can only receive reports.

Add or edit an individual user

  1. In Deep Security Manager go to Administration > User Management > Users.
  2. Click New to add a new user or double-click an existing user account to edit its settings.
  3. Specify the general properties for the user, including:
    • Username: The username that the user will enter on the Deep Security Manager login screen.
    • Password and Confirm Password: Note the password requirements listed in the dialog box. You can password requirements in the user security settings (see Enforce user password rules
    • Name: (Optional) The name of the account holder.
    • Description: (Optional) A description of the account.
    • Role: Use the list to assign a predefined role to this user. You can also assign a role to a user from the Users list, by right-clicking a user and then clicking Assign roles.
      The Deep Security Manager comes preconfigured with two roles: Full Access and Auditor. The Full Access role grants users all possible privileges for managing the Deep Security system, such as creating, editing, and deleting computers, computer groups, policies, rules, and so on. The auditor role gives users the ability to view all of the information in the Deep Security system but not the ability to make any modifications except to their personal settings (password, contact information, view preferences, and so on). Roles with various levels of system access rights can be created and modified on the Roles page or by selecting New in the Role list.
    • Language: The language that will be used in the interface when this user logs in.
    • Time zone: Time zone where the user is located. This time zone is used when displaying dates and times in the Deep Security Manager.
    • Time format: Time format used to display time in the Deep Security Manager. You can use 12-hour or 24-hour format.
    • Password never expires: When this option is selected, the user's password will never expire. Otherwise, it will expire as specified in the user security settings (see Enforce user password rules
  4. If you want to enable multi-factor authentication (MFA), click Enable MFA. If MFA is already enabled for this user, you can select Disable MFA to disable it. For details, see Set up multi-factor authentication.
  5. Click the Contact information tab and enter any contact information that you have for the user and also indicate if they are your primary contact or not. You can also check the Receive Alert Emails check box to include this user in the list of users who receive email notifications when alerts are triggered.
  6. You can also edit the settings on the Settings tab. However, increasing some of these values will affect Deep Security Manager performance. If you make changes and aren't happy with the results, you can click Reset to Default Settings (at the bottom of the tab) to reset all settings on this page to their default values:

    Refresh Rate

    • Status Bar: This setting determines how often the status bar of the Deep Security Manager refreshes during various operations such as discovering or scanning computers.
    • Alerts List/Summary: How often to refresh the data on the Alerts page in List view or Summary view.
    • Computers List: How often to refresh the data on the Computers page.
      The Last Successful Update column value will not be recalculated unless the page is manually reloaded.
    • Computer Details: The frequency with which an individual computer's property page refreshes itself with the latest information (if required).

    List Views

    • Remember last Tag filter on each page: Events pages let you filter displayed events by Tag(s). This List Views setting determines if the "Tag" filter setting is retained when you navigate away from and return to an Events page.
    • Remember last Time filter on each page: Events pages let you filter displayed events by Time period and computer(s). These List Views settings determine if the "Period" and "Computer" filter settings are retained when you navigate away from and return to an Events page.
    • Remember last Computer filter on each page: Events pages let you filter displayed events by Time period and computer(s). These List Views settings determine if the "Period" and "Computer" filter settings are retained when you navigate away from and return to an Events page.
    • Remember last Advanced Search on each page: If you have performed an "Advanced Search" on an Events page, this setting will determine if the search results are kept if you navigate away from and return to the page.
    • Number of items to show on a single page: Screens that display lists of items will display a certain number of items per "Page". To view the next page, you must use the pagination controls. Use this setting to change the number of list-items displayed per page.
    • Maximum number of items to retrieve from database: This setting limits the number of items that can retrieved from the database for display. This prevents the possibility of the Deep Security Manager getting bogged down trying to display an excessive number of results from a database query. If a query produces more than this many results, a message will appear at the top of the display informing you that only a portion of the results are being displayed.
    Increasing these values will affect Deep Security Manager performance.

    Reports

    • Enable PDF Encryption: When this option is selected, reports exported in PDF format will be password protected with the Report Password.

Change a user's password

To change a user's password, click Administration > User Management > Users, right-click the user, and click Set Password. You will be prompted for the old password as well as the new password.

Lock out a user or reset a lockout

If a user enters the wrong password too many times when trying to sign in, they will be locked out automatically. If you have resolved the situation and want to allow the user the log in, see Unlock a locked out user name.

View system events associated with a user

To see any system events associated with a user, click Administration > User Management > Users, right-click the user, and click View System Events.

Delete a user

To remove a user account from Deep Security Manager, click Administration > User Management > Users, click the user, and then click Delete.